At age 25, would you pursue a good paying corporate job that makes you unhappy or a hobby that makes you happy but has no guarantee to pa…

Answer by Jon Davis:

Hobby.

This isn't a follow your dreams speech.

At 27 I had a corporate job that was all right. I didn't enjoy the work and had no passion for what I did.

At the same time I was doing a lot of writing. It was just my hobby. Then I really started to find I had a real talent for it. Eventually I got noticed which led to me getting a lot of attention.

Eventually, through my writing, enough doors were opened that I was offered a great job. Of course this wouldn't have come around if I didn't also have corporate experience, but would never have happened if I didn't follow what I truly loved spending my free time doing. Now I work at a place where both my business and writing skills are important, the pay and benefits are much better and I love my job.

Long story short, don't quit your day job, but focus on the thing you would want to do for the next 20-30 years. Being good at both will eventually open some pretty awesome doors.

View Answer on Quora

Leave a Reply

